What are the Penalties For Assault With a Deadly Weapon in California?

The Possible Legal Implications Of Assault With A Deadly Weapon In California


The prosecution will decide whether to charge you with a misdemeanor or felony because the ADW violation is a wobbler. The choice will be made in light of relevant facts, including the kind of weapon used, the severity of any injuries, the defendant's criminal history, the existence of any physical contact or damages, and other circumstances.


What should be anticipated if charged with assault with a deadly weapon? First, let's look at what our Top Rated Criminal Defense Lawyers in Los Angeles have to say:


Best Criminal Law Attorneys in California

Possible Penalties And Sentences For Assault With A Deadly Weapon In California


If found guilty of a misdemeanor offense, a person may be subject to:

  • County jail

  • A fine

  • Costs of victim damages, as appropriate

  • Programs or lessons for anger control

  • Community service

  • Weapon confiscation

  • Probation for misdemeanors

If the case is considered a felony, the possible punishments could include:

  • State jail

  • Fines

  • A strike per California's Three Strikes Law

  • Criminal probation

  • Weapon confiscation

  • Costs of victim's damages

  • Other repercussions include:

  • Losing your state-issued license.

  • Suffering adverse migratory effects.

  • Temporarily losing your rights in a search and seizure.

If the defendant knew the alleged victim was a peace officer, the repercussions would be considerably more severe. Therefore, in this instance, assault with a deadly weapon is always a crime. If there was no firearm use, the punishment is 3, 4, or 5 years in state prison. If a weapon or a firearm was used in the assault, the sentence would be determined by the kind of weapon:

  • 4, 6, or 8 years for a regular firearm

  • 5, 7, or 9 years for semiautomatic weapons

  • 6, 9, or 12 years for an assault weapon, a machinegun, or a.50 BMG rifle

California criminal defense lawyers

What Are the Countermeasures to a Deadly Weapon Assault?

California law has strict punishments for actions that could not even cause harm to anyone. But unfortunately, such charges are never easy to deal with. For this reason, getting in touch with a prescreened Criminal Defense Law Firm in California is crucial. There are defenses that your attorney can assert on your behalf to refute the accusations of assault with a deadly weapon, and these include:


1. There was no use of a lethal weapon or force that may have seriously injured someone.


If you actually used a deadly weapon or force likely to cause harm to someone, you are not guilty of assault with a deadly weapon. It is up to the individual to decide what qualifies as a lethal weapon. For instance, a loaded gun is clearly a deadly weapon, but not one that is unloaded. Furthermore, determining what force is likely to result in severe bodily harm can be more complicated than you believe. Your California Defense Lawyer can use these murky regions to counter PC 245 (a)(1) allegations.


2. You defended yourself or someone else.


According to your defense lawyer, you may claim that you acted in self-defense or in defense of another. However, this only applies if you genuinely believed there was a risk of being touched impermissibly or becoming hurt. It should also be the case that you felt you had to use force to stop the threat right now.


Additionally, you only utilized necessary force to protect yourself from that threat. You might be able to defend yourself against charges of assault with a dangerous weapon, for instance, if you used a weapon to protect yourself against a physical threat from another person.


3. You didn't behave deliberately or with intent.

Numerous factors could have contributed to the behaviors that resulted in ADW charges. For example, your acts might have been negligent, or the purported victim might have misinterpreted them. You and your California defense lawyer must present the prosecutor and the jury with all relevant information to successfully use this sort of defense.

4. You were wrongly charged.

Even if no assault took place, a charge of assault with a deadly weapon might still be filed. In addition, it is conceivable and straightforward to accuse someone else of committing ADW on purpose out of retaliation, envy, or hatred.


Our Los Angeles criminal defense lawyers will acquire the necessary proof and speak with potential witnesses to prove your innocence and refute the accusations.


Top Rated Criminal Defense Lawyers in Los Angeles

Get A Referral To The Best Criminal Law Attorneys in California

1000Attorneys.com can refer you to prescreened, experienced, and discipline-free California Criminal Defense Lawyers. You can contact us through our 24/7 Live Chat or fill out our inquiry form here.

11 views
los angeles attorney referral service

California State Bar Certified Lawyer Referral And Information Service

1000Attorneys.com is a California State Bar Certified and approved Lawyer Referral and Information Service.

We provide unbiased and impartial lawyer referrals. This service isn't owned nor operated by lawyers receiving. referrals.

 

Our objective is that you receive the best comprehensive, high-quality legal representation while holding California attorneys to the highest standards of professional conduct.

Why Lawyer Referrals Matter

 

The California State Bar investigates on average 16,000 complaints of professional misconduct by attorneys annually.

We offer unbiased California attorney referrals and conduct due diligence by researching and recommending the best local attorney for your case. 

 

We verify attorneys are in good standing and have the required experience in the type of law related to your legal issue. 

Learn more about attorney discipline here:

 

Our History 

 

Since 2005, we have assisted people who need legal representation but whose ability to locate reputable California Lawyers is frustrated by unreliable law firm marketing of self-promoting lawyers and biased legal advertising.

How the LRS Works 


Anyone seeking competent and honest legal representation in California, can request a FREE lawyer referral. 

Once you submit your case details online, our legal 24-hour legal department will review your claim and reply via email. Most cases are reviewed and answered within 15 minutes.